Diocesan Profile

According to Canon Law, a diocese is a portion of the people of God which is entrusted for pastoral care to a bishop with the cooperation of the presbyterate so that, adhering to its pastor and gathered by him in the Holy Spirit through the gospel and the Eucharist, it constitutes a particular church in which the one, holy, Catholic and apostolic Church of Christ is present and operative. The Roman Catholic Diocese of Syracuse includes 237,546 Catholics residing in seven counties of Central and South Central New York State. The seven counties are Broome, Chenango, Cortland, Madison, Oneida, Onondaga and Oswego.

diocese mapThe Roman Catholic Diocese of Syracuse is served by Bishop Robert J. Cunningham.

The diocese has 127 parishes, 8 missions and 7 Oratories. There are 3 Catholic Hospitals in our diocese who assist 650,000 people. Seven Special Centers for Social Services assisting over 100,000 people also exist. The Diocese oversees 42 residential facilities who care for the disabled. There are 22 Catholic schools 4 of which are diocesan Junior/Senior high schools. The diocese has 264 offices (including schools) and employs approximately 3,000 people.

For additional information, please visit the Office of Pastoral Planning webpage. 

The Bishop's Office is located at
240 East Onondaga Street
Syracuse, NY 13202

Phone: (315)422-7203
Fax: (315)478-4619


Thank you for visiting The Diocese of Syracuse

We invite you to stay up to date on news and happenings within the Diocese.
We respect your time and privacy, your information will never be shared.